3174 Pennsylvania Ave, Suite 1, Weirton, West Virginia 26062

Youth Leadership

The Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce Education Committee proudly organizes the Youth Leadership Program.

  • Thirty sophomore students from our area high schools comprise the yearly Youth Leadership Class. Each spring, guidance counselors from high schools in Brooke and Hancock Counties are asked to recommend students for the program.
  • The Youth Leadership Selection Committee reviews the applications and selects participants for the program who, through their applications, present themselves to be interested, motivated, and concerned individuals having a sincere desire to offer their time and talents to improving their community.
  • Upon acceptance into the program, there will be a nominal fee of $50 per student to help defray the cost of lunches for the five Youth Leadership Sessions.


*The Selection Committee is not privy to identifying data (name, address, telephone number, parental information, etc.) of the applicants during the selection process.  Selection is based on the merit of the application and without regard to race, gender, religion, age, national origin, or handicap, as defined by law. Selection criteria and program requirements are clearly stated on the application.

The Youth Leadership Class of 2023 ended their sessions on Sunday, March 12, 2023 with a graduation ceremony held at Undo’s Weirton.

Thank You to…

  • The Weirton Area Chamber Education Committee
  • Kal Gupta
  • Carole Scheerbaum
  • Joe Paolo
  • Will Beaumont
  • Debbie Watkins
  • Brandon Palmeri
  • Blue Stream Farms
  • Birch Creek Farmery
  • Brooke High School
  • Madonna High School
  • Oak Glen High School
  • Weir High School
  • Shop-n-Save Deli
  • Rowing’s Italian Ice
  • Christ United Methodist Church
  • Hancock County School Transportation

…for helping to support our youth development programs and improve life options through education and work skills.

Congratulations to our area sophomores who graduated:

  • Hailey Buterbaugh, Brooke High School
  • Brayden Farrell, Brooke High School
  • Lyla Horvath, Brooke High School
  • Rylie Nuzum, Brooke High School
  • Cole Canterbury, Madonna High School
  • David Connors, Madonna High School
  • EJ Cottrill, Madonna High School
  • Kenny Goddard, Madonna High School
  • Chloe Orecchio, Madonna High School
  • Jasmine Swea,t Madonna High School
  • Kayla Szczerbinski, Madonna High School
  • Evan Clouston, Oak Glen High School
  • Cooper Comm, Oak Glen High School
  • Reecelyn, Craig Oak Glen High School
  • Alexander Marchese, Oak Glen High School
  • McKenzi Martin, Oak Glen High School
  • Kensignton McConnachie, Oak Glen High School
  • Wesley Molish, Oak Glen High School
  • Elle Monaco, Oak Glen High School
  • Addison Smith, Oak Glen High School
  • Tia Vick, Oak Glen High School
  • Samuel Wright, Oak Glen High School
  • Josafina Bennett, Weir High School
  • Kylie Dean, Weir High School
  • Lexie Fayak, Weir High School
  • Gigi Paladina, Weir High School
  • Melia Palavis, Weir High School
  • Sophia Shafer, Weir High School
  • Bella Spickard, Weir High School
  • Makenzie Stear, Weir High School
  • Melina Upright, Weir High School
  • Naomi Young, Weir High School